My Favourite Day

Basel bills fasnacht as the three most beautiful days of the year (die drei schönsten Tage). It’s colourful and great fun and all that, but one of my favourite days of the year in Basel is actually the Anglican Church Christmas Bazaar.

It’s held each year on a Saturday in late November, and for me it’s a reminder that the expat community here is not unlike small-town America at their annual Peach Festival. I see all sorts of people I know – from friends from our Montessori kindergarten days to friends I’ve only met recently.  It’s fun to check in and catch up with everyone…after I’ve visited the upper floor.

My first stop is always the book sale upstairs. This being Switzerland, the books are organized not only by general category but also, within fiction, somewhat alphabetically. Therefore, if you’re looking to read something new by Tracy Chevalier, you can head right to the C’s and cross your fingers you got there before it was snatched up by another fan.

I adore watching the older ladies and gents armed with lists of authors they like and books in a series they’re looking for. I love picking up a book I’ve read and loved and recommending it to the stranger next to me. And I absolutely buy too many books each year, but with 10 for 15 chf, how can you go wrong?!

img_6173

Okay, so maybe things are getting a bit out hand…

 

Leave a Reply

